HomeAccessoriesROOKTOWN: 1950’s Navy Backsack

ROOKTOWN: 1950’s Navy Backsack

ROOKTOWN-Sailors Bag

The 50’s Navy Backsack has room for plenty of gear and it’s easy to adjust the strap length thanks to the hook construction.

330.00 330.00 Inc. VAT where appropriate.

SKU: 100127.


Description: The 50’s Navy Backsack is the biggest ROOKTOWN bag you can get. The hook construction of the strap means it easy to change it from a shoulder bag into a handbag.

Features: This bag works brilliantly as a weekend bag and Micke has even used it as his checked luggage when flying. To shorten the length of the strap, just pull it through the loop where it’s attached and hook it onto the leather loop near the buckle.

Construction: The bag is made of a deadstock dark navy canvas sailor bag with either the year 1952, 1953 or 1954 stamped inside. ROOKTOWN modify the original bag and then sew on the leather details by hand.

Materials: The leather details date from the early 1940’s while the big shoulder strap is made for a 1937 machine gunners belt. The leather is carefully cleaned and then oiled with Red Wing Mink Oil. The only new materials are the thread and the rivets.

Made in: Like all ROOKTOWN Revival items, the 50’s Navy Backsack is assembled and sewn by hand in Malmö, Sweden by Micke and Fredrik, the founders of ROOKTOWN.

Colour info: This item is made from repurposed vintage and deadstock components. No two items are identical! Twill and leather colours may vary from the specific item pictured.

Size: The bag measures 60 cm in height and has a diameter of 28 cm. All the measurements are approximate and may differ slightly from bag to bag.

Special delivery: Please note that this item is made to order with a manufacturing time of 1-2 weeks from the time you place your order.

Free EU delivery applies to all these countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.